Gratitude

Gratitude by definition: The state of being grateful: thankfulness

If you know me or have been reading my blog or  “About” page on the blog, you know that I am a coach for Girls on the Run. This is my first season coaching and I have been enjoying it tremendously!

Yesterday, our lesson was in Gratitude.

Listening to the girls list out their many “Thanks” and participating with them in listing out mine, I was reminded that there are times when I get wrapped up in “Life” and forget to reflect on the things I am thankful for… Often the things that have given me this “Life” that I am so busy being consumed with.

So today, I am making a list of the people, opportunities and things I am Grateful for.

  • My husband and son: I am so fortunate to call them my little family. Each day spent being Jim’s wife and Bo’s Mom is full of LOVE, laughter, hugs & kisses, lessons in life, arguments, disciplinary action (Yes they both get disciplined!) and so many other emotions that I couldn’t begin to list them all here. The time spent growing in these relationships over the years is truly priceless and has taught me so much about who I am in so many ways. I am so grateful for them!

Three Peas in a Pod

  • My family and “friend” family: “You must remember, family is often born of blood, but it doesn’t depend on blood. Nor is it exclusive of friendship. Family members can be your best friends, you know. And best friends, whether or not they are related to you, can be your family.” This quote rings so true for me. My sister and my Mom are my best friends, some of my best friends are my sisters and brother. (I’m talking about you Chad Confer!) Through tears, laughter, anger, fear and love… Family sees and feels it all. And yet they continue to love you anyway, that’s the best part! I am so grateful for each and every one of you!!

imagejpeg_2_4-1 sissyJim, Pap, Don - Golden Knights

  •  Being Self-Employed: So many reasons to be thankful for being my own boss. Most importantly, it allows me the flexibility to coach GOTR, attend Bo’s wrestling practices and tournaments, take care of our home and meet friends for lunch whenever I feel like it. Being able to take vacations when you desire is also a plus! I am lucky to get to work side by side with my husband most days. That is reason enough to be thankful!!
  • Health: Not only mine, but that of my family. For the most part, my family is healthy. Aside from the common cold here and there, we are fortunate to stay germ free. Some families, ones I know well, are not so lucky and have to face the reality of a child having cancer… I HATE that! Hate is a strong word, but I HATE seeing children stricken with disease. I’m not just talking cancer, I’m talking any disease. As adults, often the diseases and/or illnesses we come down with can be prevented. Extra hand washing, healthy eating habits, exercise, keeping our weight at a healthy level… Lots of things we can do to keep ourselves on a path of health. But children, they don’t have this control. I watch the St. Jude’s commercials that I am sure you all watch, and they break my heart.

On that note, St. Jude is the leading medical facility for research of childhood illness. The folks there work tirelessly, day in and day out, to research and develop treatment for illnesses that strike the helpless.

My great friend Lisa Elliot is trying to help fund some of this research… She is doing one of her favorite things, as well as mine, running for a cause! On Sunday, August 1, 2013, Lisa will run the Disneyland Half Marathon. She will run in support of St. Jude and all of the children they provide care to.

If you would like to donate to Lisa’s Fund, you may do so here: http://heroes.stjude.org/lisaelliott

Firecracker_StJudeHeroLogo_resized

And just like the link states, Lisa is a St. Jude Hero!! Lisa has set the bar high for herself. She is committed to SHAVING HER HEAD if she can raise $4,000 to support St. Jude. Speaking from my viewpoint, a viewpoint with LONG hair, shaving her head takes heart. But Lisa has the heart to do it!!

What are some thing you are grateful for? Do you reflect on them often?

And Lisa… I’ve got the clippers ready!!

All the best,

Jessye

Leave a Reply

