p90x Week 1 Recap and Initial Thoughts

Happy Monday Y’all!!

I hope your day has been filled with lots of sunshine… Mine has not.

We are at Day 7 of grey and cloudy skies here in NC and I am sure missing my Carolina Blue colored sky of usual.

Come on Mother Nature, I am begging for some Vitamin D ASAP!!

The weather man says we should have partly cloudy skies starting tomorrow so here is hoping he is correct. (Normally I believe him about 30% of the time, but today I am traveling the path of Optimism!!)

Well today I want to recap for you my first week of p90x and break down my thoughts on it thus far.

p90x

I’ll start with saying that this is the very first time I have done p90x. I’m talking prior to this past week I only ever witnessed the infomercials for it and that is the extent of my knowledge of the program.

The husband and I finished Insanity on October 1st and took off the remainder of that week to rest our Shaun T battered bodies!!

Last Monday we started our p90 journey. We are following the “Classic” version. We did not take the Fit Test that is outlined in the program booklet nor do we count our repetitions as Tony Horton recommends. We’re rebels like that!!

The schedule for the week went as follows and will remain the same for the first 3 weeks:

Monday – Chest and Back, Ab Ripper X

Tuesday – Plyometrics

Wednesday – Shoulders and Arms, Ab Ripper X

Thursday – Yoga X

Friday – Legs and Back, Ab Ripper X

Saturday – Kenpo X (Kickboxing)

Sunday – Rest Day

My thoughts so far: This program is challenging and I can see from the initial week how it could bring someone starting it with little to no fitness background excellent results, especially if they followed a strict food program also. For me it is lacking on the cardio a bit so I am planning to either add in some extra Insanity DVD’s or running to up my burn a bit. The strength training that is performed is great and I have felt sore in places I haven’t felt sore in for quite some time. I like that it is different from Insanity in that we use equipment (dumbbells, resistance bands) and everything is more slow and controlled. Overall I would say that I enjoy it and will continue on in the program with the added cardio.

Plus, watching my husband do Yoga X each Thursday makes the lower cardio totally worth it!!

I do have one goal from following this program. I want to be able to do 5 unassisted pull-ups after we are through with the entire program. We shall see if that can happen when we finish January 5th!

I will update my thoughts again after Week 3 when we switch to a new routine.

Until next time,

Jessye

Leave a Reply

